Qatar National Library

Philharmonic at the Library: Octet Brilliance, Mendelssohn's Virtuoso Masterpiece

2024.2.15 18:00

Special Events Area

Composed in 1825 when Mendelssohn was just 16 years old, the Octet is a four movement work, written in the classical style. Despite having been composed when Mendelssohn was still a teenager, the work is held to be as good as anything written by the great composers, marking Mendelssohn out as a true prodigy. 


Felix Mendelssohn 
String Octet in E Flat Major Op. 20 

I.      Allegro moderato ma con fuoco
II.     Andante
III.    Scherzo. Allegro leggierisimo
IV.    Presto

Aldemaro Romero 
Fuga con pajarillo, a Venezuelan piece for string nonett


Lorena Manescu, violin
Dmitri Torchinski, violin
Andrea Mereutza, viola  
Christoph Schmitz, violoncello
Eslam El Hefnayi, violin
Mohammed Oweda, violin
Eslam Abd El Aziz, viola
Hassan El Moataz, violoncello
Sandor Onodi, double bass

Date: 15 February 2024 

Time: 6:00 - 7:00 PM

Language: Arabic and English

Target Audience: General public 

Seats are limited, please click the button below to register.


Event has ended.

Tickets remaining

Register: Waitlist (you can register on the waitlist)

Event date and time


2024.2.15 18:00


2024.2.15 19:00

Event location

Special Events Area

Qatar National Library, Education City, Al Luqta St

View map and directions

Add event to your calendar